Singapore Airlines (SQ, Singapore Changi) and Malaysia Airlines (MH, Kuala Lumpur Int'l) have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to expand cooperation in the areas of network, maintenance, frequent flyer programmes, and cargo.

The two South-East Asian carriers plan to finalise the formal agreement in the coming months. The wide-ranging strategic partnership is subject to multiple regulatory approvals. It will also include the carriers' subsidiaries: Scoot and SilkAir in Singapore and Firefly in Malaysia.

Currently, Singapore Airlines and Malaysia Airlines have a code-share partnership covering services from Singapore Changi to Kuala Lumpur Int'l (operated by both airlines) and Kuching (operated by Malaysia Airlines only). The airlines said in a statement that they plan to expand the code-share agreement beyond their two home markets.

The Singaporean and Malaysian flag carriers were originally founded as a single airline, Malayan Airways Limited, prior to the Asian countries' independence. The carrier was renamed as Malaysian Airways (1963) after the Federation of Malaysia was founded in 1963. Subsequently, after Singapore's declaration of independence in 1966, the airline was renamed again to MSA - Malaysia-Singapore Airlines. This airline ceased operations in 1972 and was replaced by the two separate flag carriers which continue to exist.