The Nigerian Federal Government has announced the resumption of scheduled domestic passenger flights with effect from 0000L, June 21.

The Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) said in a statement that in the first phase, airports at Abuja, Lagos, Kano, Port Harcourt Omagwa, and Owerri will reopen with others to follow in due course.

"All flights to any airport outside the above five listed airports above shall comply with the existing COVID-19 protocols for approvals," the regulator said.

In the interests of social distancing, airlines will be limited to loads of 50-70% on all flights.

According to the ch-aviation PRO airlines module, Nigeria's scheduled airlines include Aero Contractors, Air Peace, Arik Air, Azman Air, Dana Air, Ibom Air, MaxAir (Nigeria), Overland Airways, and the nascent United Nigeria Airlines.