Malaysia is planning to reopen its borders to travellers from six countries in the region, although only citizens of Brunei and Singapore would be allowed without any additional formalities, Director-General of Health Noor Hisham Abdullah said during a media briefing.

The "green zone" would include travellers from Australia, New Zealand, Japan, and South Korea. However, passengers would have to undergo COVID-19 testing either pre-departure or upon arrival in Malaysia. In the first phase, only foreigners earning at least MYR10,000 ringgit (USD2,300) a month, and holders of professional visit passes and resident talent passes will be permitted to enter.

In contrast, travellers from Singapore and Brunei, with which Malaysia shares land borders, will be allowed without any restrictions, subject to the two countries extending the same rules to Malaysian citizens.

"The loosening of the border restrictions must be reciprocated and both these countries must allow our citizens to enter without restrictions, as we have allowed," Defense Minister Ismail Sabri said.

None of the "green zone" reopenings has been implemented yet. The Malaysian authorities have not given any specific timeline for the lifting of the restrictions. Noor Hisham said that discussions were still at "early stages". He added that the government was also talking to other countries and was evaluating whether the borders should reopen fully when the current restrictions expire at the end of August.

Meanwhile, AirAsia (AK, Kuala Lumpur Int'l) has announced plans to increase its international network in July 2020, which currently encompasses only limited services from Kuala Lumpur Int'l. Airlineroute has reported that as of July, the low-cost carrier will also add international services from Johor Bahru, Kota Kinabalu, and Penang. Flag carrier Malaysia Airlines (MH, Kuala Lumpur Int'l) is also set to restart international operations in July.