The Singapore Airlines Group has extended the list of cities approved for transit through Singapore Changi airport to include select destinations in China, Japan, South Korea, and Taiwan, thus restarting a limited number of two-way transfer options.

The airline said in an update on June 25 that passengers travelling onboard Singapore Airlines (SQ, Singapore Changi) flights from Shanghai Pudong, Hong Kong Int'l, Seoul Incheon, Tokyo Narita, and Osaka Kansai will be allowed to connect via Singapore effective immediately. Transit will also be allowed for passengers travelling from Chongqing with SilkAir (MI, Singapore Changi), and from Taipei Taoyuan, Hong Kong, and Guangzhou with Scoot (TR, Singapore Changi).

Earlier, the airline also permitted transit to passengers from five points in Australia and two in New Zealand.

While the group underlined that transiting the hub remains an option exclusively for outbound passengers from the approved cities, it added that it was possible to book and travel return trips as long as both the origin and the destination points were on the list. So far, given that transit options were only open for passengers from Australia and New Zealand, they were effectively one-way solutions.

For the time being, transfers to and from flights operated by other airlines remain banned at Singapore airport.