Despite having reopened Kuwait to international scheduled traffic on August 1, 2020, the Kuwait government has resolved to keep entry bans in place for travellers from 31 countries.

According to the Kuwaiti Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA), the list of countries and territories from where flights continue to be banned includes:

  • Armenia,
  • Bangladesh,
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina,
  • Brazil,
  • Chile,
  • China,
  • Colombia,
  • Dominican Republic,
  • Egypt,
  • Hong Kong,
  • India,
  • Indonesia,
  • Iran,
  • Iraq,
  • Italy,
  • Kosovo
  • Lebanon,
  • Mexico,
  • Moldova,
  • Montenegro,
  • Nepal,
  • North Macedonia,
  • Pakistan,
  • Panama,
  • Peru,
  • Philippines,
  • Serbia,
  • Singapore,
  • Spain,
  • Sri Lanka,
  • Syria.

Previously, the Kuwaiti government had planned to ban traffic from only seven countries beyond July 31.

During the first phase of the reopening of Kuwait, each flight's maximum load factor has been capped at 30%. In addition, the government is only allowing a maximum of 100 flights per day, with the total number of travellers not to exceed 10,000. The second phase, in the limits will be increased, is scheduled to start in February 2021, although the timeline could change subject to the evolution of the pandemic.